0 Menu

DRIFT. - Genderland 12" EP


10.00 / On Sale

Genderland 12" EP (2017)

A1 Paradise
A2 Lines
A3 Genderland
B1 תמיד
B2 Social Front
B3 Calculations

After the digital release of the Genderland single in June, the new 6-track EP by DRIFT. is out 8 September.
Musically, the new songs complement each other.
Throbbing beats are punctuated with melodies, vocals floating in layers, their dreamy veil disguising a strong message. Strong and anything but stable.
Lead song Genderland with its rumbling bass, syncopated electro-reggae rhythm and dub effects, it’s Ace of Bass filtered through Darkwave.
Paradise throbs and clanks and drones and pulses with expectation, celestial multitracked vocals.
Lines, by contrast, is a bubbling and burbling, bass-driven affair, complete with a melodic nod to West End Girls.
Social Front marries its message of female empowerment to bouncy electropop, influenced by post-punk performance artist and No Wave singer Lizzy Mercier Descloux. Calculations draws the EP to a close in a fittingly anthemic manner.
If first EP Black Devotion was all about searching for a sound, her new recording signals a shift, a drift towards self-determination, a PVC-clad step into the murky mixed-message waters of 21st century gender politics.


We suggest you to choose the Registered/Trackable shipping option before checking out. We won't be held accountable for unregistered packages going lost.

The shipping rate calculated by BigCartel refers to orders up til 3 x 12”/LP.
For more items, a specific surcharge on shipping will be applied by us.

USA customers please order at our stateside distributor Torn Light